LFP Awards for Barcelona stars

LFP Awards for Barcelona stars

Leo Messi, Andres Iniesta, Carles Puyol, Marc Bartra and Pep Guardiola were all recipients of the annual honors awarded by the Liga de Fútbol Profesional (LFP, Professional Football League) for the best players and coaches of the 2011/12 season.  A technical committee selected three players for each position — goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, attacking midfielder, and striker, plus breakthrough players. Later, the current managers chose the winners among these finalists. Active players voted for the Best Player and Best Manager awards, while the fans voted for the Fair Play award through the Federation of Peñas.

Lionel Messi won both the Best Forward and Best Player awards, while Iniesta has been considered the best midfielder. Carles Puyol has been awarded the Fair Play award and Pep Guardiola was chosen the Best Coach of the season.  Marc Bartra won the Best Defense award in the Liga Adelante category. Continue reading for the full list of awarded players.

La Liga

Best player: Leo Messi (Barcelona)
Best Coach: Pep Guardiola (Barcelona)
Best Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (R. Madrid)
Best Defense: Sergio Ramos (R. Madrid)
Best midfielder: Xabi Alonso (R. Madrid)
Best attacking midfielder: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Best Forward: Leo Messi (Barcelona)
Fair Play: Carles Puyol (Barcelona)
Breakthrough player: Francisco Alarcon Isco (Málaga)

Liga Adelante

Best Goalkeeper: Dani Aranzubía (Deportivo)
Best Defense: Marc Bartra (Barcelona B)
Best midfielder: Álex López (Celta)
Best attacking midfielder: Andrés Guardado (Deportivo/Valencia)
Best Forward: Iago Aspas (Celta)
Fair Play: Miguel Ángel García “Corona” (UD Almería)
Breakthrough playern: Javi Hervás (Córdoba/Sevilla)

Source: lfp.es, Picture credit:  David Ramos/Getty Images